The Ticker SCSceneCoverLEAD

Published on March 5th, 2014 | by Ballard Lesemann


SceneSC Celebrates Indie Music from Columbia and Charleston

Long-running Columbia-based music webzine SceneSC released another solid compilation of underground/indie South Carolina songsmiths and bands this week. The 24-song collection (plus one extra track) is titled 2014 SceneSC Sampler They issued it as a digital album online on March 4. 

SCScene editor David Stringer posted an enthusiastic and informative feature this week as well. “It might be most remarkable that we made it to our fifth compilation,” he wrote. “Coming up on six years of existence in July, we didn’t have a grand five-year plan, but here we are releasing another sampler filled with great South Carolina tunes from 17 artists that have never been on a SceneSC sampler before and seven returning sampler alumni.”


Founded in 2008, covers indie-minded music in the state and across the Southeast.

While a few of artists featured in the sampler grew up in various parts of the Upstate, Midlands, and Lowcountry, the majority of acts are currently based either in the Columbia or Charleston areas. Style-wise, there’s a healthy mix of modern indie pop, alt-rock, Americana, and experimental stuff on the comp.

SCScene‘s 2013 compilation featured eight Charleston-based acts: Elim Bolt, Heyrocco, Slow Runner, Megan Jean and the KFB, Matadero, A Fragile Tomorrow, Brave Baby, and Modern Man. This year, the 2014 SceneSC Sampler‘s Holy City-based acts include songwriter Jordan Igoe (“I Was You”), pop/rock band Brave Baby (“Find You Out”), songwriter Grace Joyner (“Be Good”), songsmith Tyler Bertges (“Night Owls Train”), electro-pop Mechanical River (“Boyfriend Yes”), Johnny Delaware (“Krause”), SUSTO (“Vampiros”), and the Taylor McCleskey/Taylor Neal duo Maybe Marigold (“Avalanches”).


SCScene‘s hometown scene is well represented on 2014 SceneSC Sampler. The Columbia-based acts include Muscle Memory (featuring singer/songwriter David Adedokun), chilled-out pop singer Keath Mead, Americana quintet the Restoration, rockin’ sibling duo the Mobros, indie rock trio Small Sanctions, electronic/synth duo Magnetic Flowers, guitar-heavy rock band Can’t Kids, quirky/punky rockers Release the Dog (led by guitarist Ross Swinson), and hard-hitting rock band Rejectioneers.

On the latter half of the collection more Columbia artists pop up, including indie-pop songsmith Yosef (a.k.a. Hunter Duncan), prog-rock instrumentalists Trees on Mars, acoustic-based chamber pop project Martin and the Positronics (guided by songwriter Thomas Ray), garage-pop trio Those Lavender Whales, keys-based pop project Falling off a Building (singer/pianist Adam Cullum), and acoustic-based Cancellieri (a.k.a. Ryan Hutchens).

The album artwork by Nate Puza depicts a photo snapped along the hilly S.C./N.C. border.

The compilation is currently available for download at a “name your price” rate.  A statement on the main page reads, “If you’re kind enough to donate for the download of this compilation, proceeds will go towards physical copies to further spread the music of all the great bands on the sampler.”

Visit for more.



Powered by Facebook Comments

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About the Author

Ballard Lesemann

is a musician and writer. Born and raised in Charleston, S.C., he spent years playing in bands and working for Flagpole Magazine in the bustling music town of Athens, Ga. He returned to his hometown and served more than seven years as the Charleston City Paper's music editor. He's better at drumming than he is at playing guitar.

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑